04 June 2016

FORAC receives the Brockhouse Canada Prize

[Translate to English:] Photo: Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada


[February 27, The FORAC consortium team received the prestigious Brockhouse Canada Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering at a ceremony held at the residence of the Governor General of Canada at Rideau Hall, Ottawa. Laval University is the first university in Quebec to receive this honorable award granted by the Research Council Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC), since its inception in 2004.

"The Brockhouse Canada Prize aims to recognize the achievements of outstanding Canadian teams of researchers from different disciplines. The winners of this award have demonstrated a true spirit of collaboration and highlight how it can lead to remarkable progress, "said Suzanne Fortier, President of NSERC.


FORAC received this honor with great pleasure and pride. It is recognition of hard work in which students, research professionals and teachers have contributed. We also wish to acknowledge the unfailing support of our partners at Université Laval, industry and governments. Under the leadership of Sophie D'Amours, the whole FORAC team mobilized to carry out innovations that bring us this great honor today.

To one and all: Thank you! 



Read the article in le fil, le journal de la communauté universitaire (French only)

See the team's profile on NSERC website


The FORAC team almost complete: Jonathan Gaudreault, 
Sophie D'Amours and Luc LeBel sit in front of Jean-Marc Frayret 
(École polytechnique de Montréal), Nadia Lehoux, Mustapha Nourelfath, 
Robert Beauregard and Daoud Aït-Kadi. 
Missing: Alain Martel, Diane Poulin and Mikael Rönnqvist.
Photo: The Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada